Review: John Carter

John Carter. When I first saw the trailer, I was very confused. I didn’t get the story at all, except it all revolved around a man named John Carter who seemed to have superpowers. Of course, now that I’ve actually seen the movie, I understand what it was all about. And I must say I liked the movie – which is pretty surprising, because in general I don’t like sci-fi (and yet I’m a big fan of Firefly, Dark Angel and liked Avatar). I don’t count superhero movies as sci-fi; for me that’s a whole different genre. (And NO, Supernatural isn’t sci-fi. It’s urban Fantasy!) It wasn’t a great movie, but it was enjoyable. And had nothing to do with superpowers. Just lack of gravity.

The plot goes something like this: John Carter of Virginia, Earth ends up on Mars via some kind of amulet. He’s held against his will by a green four-armed alien species. He then finds himself neck-deep in a war between two ‘humanoid’ species as he rescues the princess of Helion.  (No idea if I spelled that right.) The two proceed to fall in love and this causes him to search for a way back to Mars as he’s thrust back to Earth.

The only main thing I found lacking was background on John Carter and the relationship between him and Sola. I would’ve liked to see more of his past and find out whether the death of his wife and child was an accident or if someone set out to kill them. I also would’ve preferred seeing more concern for Sola – who had very much taken up the role of caretaker in the beginning. Actually, I’d liked to have learned more about Sola in general. Why she had so many burn marks already, for instance. And why she was denied a baby initially. Also, I would’ve wanted to know whether the two ‘humanoid’ races were actually human and if so, why they had settled on Mars.

Anyway, I found this movie to be very enjoyable overall: it kept my attention the entire time.

A penny for your thoughts

