Review: Flight of the Phoenix (2004)

Flight of the Phoenix is apparently a remake of a movie with the same title that was made in 1965. I’ve not seen the original, so I can’t comment on any of the changes that might have occurred in the 2004 version. I stumbled upon this movie as I was searching for movies with Hugh Laurie in them. And to my surprise, even more actors I’m familiar with were in it. Dennis Quaid (who I always confuse with Harrison Ford for some reason), Tyrese Gibson, Miranda Otto and Jared Padalecki.

The essence of the story is that a bunch of people are in a plane crash and they end up in the desert. They initially decide to wait for help but – as people keep dying – they all agree on building a plane with the pieces of the crashed one. I think this movie has a few great feel-good moments. Like the time they turn on the radio (and it’s playing Hey Ya by OutKast for crying out loud! Great choice!) and some of them start dancing. Or the ending credits.

There was also a tear-jerking moment, at least for me, when one of them gets shot while trying to protect one of his comrades. Especially since he was my second favorite character and because of the reaction of the other members of the group as they saw and felt him slipping into death. I think the casting of this movie was a good fit: all actors were very good and showed a range of emotions. From despair, anger and depression to happiness, sadness and acceptance.

It’s not an outstanding movie that will keep the gears in your mind working for days, but it certainly entertained me and my younger sister. Of course, I’m a huge fan of Hugh Lauri, so him being in it was an added bonus. This was my first time seeing Miranda Otto in anything else besides The Lord of the Rings, so that was a surprise. She didn’t let me down. None of the actors did. Although I must say I found Jared Padalecki’s death in the movie quite hilarious for some reason. I have no idea why.

Anyways, it was a good movie. I’d certainly recommend it.

6 thoughts on “Review: Flight of the Phoenix (2004)

  1. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

    Like

A penny for your thoughts

