Review: The Expendables

A colleague of mine recommended The Expendables, so I figured I’d give it a shot. God knows I like my kick-ass hack ‘n slash action movies every once in a while.  Ninja Assassin, 300 and now The Expendables. I’ll admit: I enjoyed it. Perhaps a little too much. Things were big, bad and explosive!

The plot is irrelevant to the amount of action, and truthfully a little cheesy. I mean, can you image Sylvester Stallone risking his life and the lives of his friends just for some girl? But hey, I heard this movie was some kind of homage to the action movies of old. So I don’t really mind. It was a very enjoyable experience and the whole brothers in arms vibe made me feel warm and fuzzy inside.

The knife action (because knives will always be cooler than guns to me) was awesome. The guy who played the father in the series Everybody Hates Chris and his automatic shotgun – if that’s what it was – was bad ass! The inclusion of Jet Li as the martial arts fighter was a bit predictable, but he played his part well. And I happen to be biased towards him, so that made the movie even better.

If you like a lot of actions and explosions and don’t need a believable plot to enjoy a movie, The Expendables is the movie for you!

A penny for your thoughts

