Review: Hanna

I was browsing through the IMDB page of Cate Blanchett, when I came across Hanna. The names of Saoirse Ronan and Eric Bana convinced me I had to watch the movie. Bana’s performance in Troy was the only good thing about that movie. Ronan gave a stunning performance in Peter Jackson’s The Lovely Bones. And Cate Blanchett will always and forever be Galadriel. Her stunning appearance in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and her amazing acting have endeared her to me. She’s made it to my list of celebrities I consider to be good at their work.

Hanna is a young girl raised like a soldier by her father, who is a former government agent of some kind, growing up in Finland. She’s sent on a mission taking her through Morocco, Spain and Germany. All the while she’s being chased by Marissa, an evil government agent.  In the end she finds things out about herself no one, least of all Hanna herself, could have foreseen.

The action scenes were very well executed and got my adrenaline pumping. The plot itself made me curious as to what those government agents were actually up to. In the end I found out and  – like Hanna – was shocked and repelled. I must admit Cate Blanchett’s American accent sounded hilarious to me, but that was because I wasn’t expecting that at all.

I personally loved Hanna “catchphrase” if you will, which she uses at the beginning and at the ending:  “I missed your heart.” If you like to be on the edge of your seat during a movie, Hanna is certainly the movie for you. All actors did an amazing job!

A penny for your thoughts

