Review: Due Date

I wasn’t really expecting much from Due Date, but I decided to give it a chance because Robert Downey Jr. was in it. I was in for a surprise. The movie is hilarious! It’s about an architect (Downey Jr.) who is on his way home to his pregnant wife, who is expected to give birth by the end of the week.

He gets in trouble pretty fast as he meets an aspiring actor (Zack Galifianakis) and his dog Sunny. Things go from bad to worse when he’s put on a no-fly list and has to drive across the country with his ‘nemesis’. I had not expected this movie to be very funny, but I was wrong. Some of the things that happen are a bit extreme (and I would’ve never put up with a lot of them), but it all played out well in the absurdity of them all.

I think one of my favorite parts is where Robert Downey Jr. punches an annoying kid in the stomach. Yes, I know that sounds horrible and in most cases it would be. But here it just made me howl with laughter. The kid deserved it. Downey Jr. shines as the jerky architect who means well and who sees red before his eyes when he gets mad. How he couldn’t leave his newfound ‘friend’ – and I use this term loosely – because the ashes of said friend’s father made him feel guilty. Or how he helped him when they accidentally drank his father’s ashes because another friend of his (Jamie Foxx)  mistook the ashes for coffee.

He tends to play the jerky good guy in a lot of movies; I guess it’s because he pulls it off so well. And that is why he’s one of my favorite actors.

A penny for your thoughts

