Review: Law Abiding Citizen

Wow. Just…wow. This was the one word I was able to utter after I finished watching this movie. It was amazing. It kept me on the edge of my seat from the horrifying beginning, to the bitter sweet end.  Jamie Foxx and Gerard Butler gave stunning and heart chilling performances. I don’t think I’ve ever clutched at my heart during a movie so many times.

This was a great movie. It made me feel bad for Gerard Butler, who plays a man who has lost both his wife and his daughter at the hands of two criminals. And it kept me rooting for him the entire time – secretly towards the end – even though so many innocent people died because of his ‘justice’.

Jamie Foxx shined as a lawyer, working for the DA, who initially sympathizes with Butler, until the murder spree begins. He is constantly beaten by Gerard, who is just too smart for his own good. Which makes the end so fitting. I won’t spoil the ending, but it is really brilliant. This movie pulls you this way and that, and the tension will come close to suffocating you, but it’s definitely worth it. I wish I could have seen it at the cinema. That would have done this movie just.

It’s a great movie: the tension is so thick you could cut it with a knife. Awesomeness galore.

A penny for your thoughts

