Review: Notes on a Scandal

Oh My God. That’s what I was thinking the entire time I was watching Notes On A Scandal. Judi Dench’s acting like a delusional, creepy and quite distrusting old hag, caused an icy finger to go down my spine. It’s crazy how crazy this movie is. I found myself actually feeling sorry for Cate Blanchett, who plays an art teacher who is having an affair with a fifteen year old student. Which is, you know, sick and illegal and stuff. And absolutely not tolerated. I mean: sure the boy was cute, but he was a minor. And therefore no touchy.

And the strange thing is: this should have been the most disturbing part of the movie. But it wasn’t. Judi Dench’s character was. Her delusions of building and saving a friendship (and she wanted more than friendship in the end) and seeing and hearing how her twisted mind worked was just so….creepy. I don’t find old women creepy, but Dench has traumatized me forever. I will never look at an old lady the same again.

I felt like ants were crawling all over my arms as I watched the gears in her mind working. I was so disgusted at what she tried to do to Blanchett’s character, I no longer saw her as evil. Just Judi. It’s weird. Even as I’m typing this, I still shiver at times. This is not a movie for the faint of heart. And not a movie for a movie night with your friends. This will haunt you. Might just be for a minute, or an hour, or even weeks. I just know that I can’t go to sleep this night, without negating these kinds of feeling. Which is why I’m going to watch a whimsical episode of One Piece. I need to get this movie out of my mind.

And if you were watch this movie, you would to.

A penny for your thoughts

