Why do I write?

I often wonder why I write. It seems such an easy answer: because I want to be published. But why do I want to be published? That’s the hard question. You see, the first and foremost reason I write is that my brain is always working. Always overflowing with thoughts, ideas, cool quotes, scenes and so on. It’s both a blessing and curse. Yes, I have a bottomless well of inspiration (which still happens to be dry at times – damn you writer’s block!) but on the other hand, my brain is always working. The reason I haven’t been sleeping well since I was thirteen.

I need get the stories and ideas out, to somewhat calm and empty my mind. Otherwise I’d get next to no sleep at all. Another reason I write is because for some reason, I’ve always considered it my calling. Writing has always been a part of me. I can’t imagine me not writing – even if it’s just for myself. Maybe it’s because I’ve been doing it for so long. Maybe it’s because I believe the stories in my head deserve to be told.

I guess that’s the biggest reason I want to be a published author someday. Those stories deserve to be told and they deserve to be read. I want to be able to touch people’s hearts with my words, bring them to tears as they share the sufferings of my characters, make them roll on the floor with laughter at antics of strange races. I want to touch the lives of people who like Fantasy just as much as I do. And I want them to experience what I’ve experienced in my head so many times. Worlds no one else would have ever dreamed of. Quests which would’ve never come into fruition if I hadn’t penned them down.

Maybe this makes me sound a bit arrogant, but that is not my intent. I’m not claiming to be the best Fantasy writer in the world – I have too much to learn for that. But I do believe that if I work hard enough and finish one of my novels, keep honing my skills and keep on editing and revising, that I can create a captivating novel one day, ready to be published. And maybe even more after that.

One thought on “Why do I write?

A penny for your thoughts

