Review: Thor – The Dark World

So, I totally forgot that I hadn’t written a review for Thor: The Dark World, even though I went to see it on the day after it premiered in the Netherlands. (Though I must admit: my thoughts were way too incoherent after watching the movie because it was so awesome)

Let me just say that I loved the movie, it certainly set a standard for comic book movies in my mind when it comes to cinematography. The settings were beautiful! The story kind of picks up where The Avengers left off: Loki has faced Asgardian justice and is sentenced to a life in prison. Thor is tasked with defending the nine realms while wishing for his love to be at his side. But then the Dark Elves attack and Thor is forced to ask his brother for help.

I liked how the movie explored the brotherly bond a bit more – because whatever scenes did that in the first movie were cut – and we really haven’t gotten a sense of the two as brothers. We get to see them bickering and fighting together and I liked that a lot about Thor: The Dark World. There was a sense that there was going to be a love-triangle between Jane, Thor and lady Sif, but because the actress who plays Sif was injured a lot of her scenes were cut. And that’s too bad because Sif seems to be a lot more interesting than Jane.

It had the Marvel humour all Marvel movies are known for, but some humorous scenes were a bit ill-timed. I can’t really get into that – because SPOILERS – but there was one tragic scene that was kind of diminished by it. Though a lot of jokes were actually pretty funny. There are two end credit scenes this time and one of them ties into The Guardians of the Galaxy, which I’m also planning to see.

Thor: The Dark World was a great movie (could’ve been a bit grittier in my opinion) and I’m looking forward to Thor 3!

One thought on “Review: Thor – The Dark World

  1. Regarding her preparation for the role Portman remarked, “I signed on to do it before there was a script. And Ken, who’s amazing, who is so incredible, was like, ‘You can really help create this character’. I got to read all of these biographies of female scientists like Rosalind Franklin who actually discovered the DNA double helix but didn’t get the credit for it. The struggles they had and the way that they thought – I was like, ‘What a great opportunity, in a very big movie that is going to be seen by a lot of people, to have a woman as a scientist’. She’s a very serious scientist. Because in the comic she’s a nurse and now they made her an astrophysicist . Really, I know it sounds silly, but it is those little things that makes girls think it’s possible. It doesn’t give them a [role] model of ‘Oh, I just have to dress cute in movies'”.

    Like

A penny for your thoughts

