The year 2013…

2013 for me was the year of sequels and delayed gratification.

Sequels were a constant in my life this year: from the second year of Japanstudies I enrolled in, the majority of movies I watched at the cinema (Fast and Furious 6, Iron man 3, Thor: The Dark World, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire & The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug), to the new seasons of TV shows I watched.

Delayed gratification – thank you Cookie Monster and Tom Hiddleston for that very important lesson! – was something that I’ve never known the name of, but it’s also been a common occurrence this year. Waiting for word for the air dates of Sherlock, Hannibal and Community, waiting for the new books of James Barclay, Steven Erikson, Brent Weeks and Glen Cook, and patiently waiting for the words to flow from my fingers whenever I was stuck while working on my WIP (work in progress), instead of forcing myself.

2013 was the year of worries and surprises, both pleasant and unpleasant.

I worried a lot this year, as do I ever, about many things. About money issues, about university tuition, about insomnia, about midterm results, about presentations and papers to prepare, about finals and their results. I worried about my lack of inspiration when it came to writing on my WIP, I worried about not working enough hours, and I worried about worrying so much. (Ah, what can I say? I’m a worrywart)

There were also a lot of surprises this year: I found someone who loves the same books I do (you know who you are) and book lovers will know how rare that is, especially when you’re a lover of a genre – Fantasy – which encompasses so many sub genres. I was unpleasantly surprised when a certain Dutch online store I’ve been a costumer of for as long as I can remember bungled three successive orders of mine, one of which was part of my Christmas present.

2013 was the year of endings and beginnings.

2013 marked the year I finished the Elves series by James Barclay – alas all good things must come to an end – but it also marked the beginning of TV shows Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Almost Human, and the beginning of Steven Erikson’s The Kharkanas Trilogy with the first book Forge of Darkness. This was the year I lost one job, and after working for 6 weeks in a meat processing plant (which I shall never do again) during my summer vacation, found another job right across the street from my old one.

All in all, 2013 was quite the year. Hopefully 2014 will be a bit calmer, with a lot more sequels, pleasant surprises, and new beginnings.

A penny for your thoughts

