Review: Captain America: The Winter Soldier

I went to see Captain America: The Winter Soldier today, and it was AMAZING! You can watch the trailer by clicking the link below:

I was never really a Captain America fan, I still think he is – in comparison to the others – the most boring member of the Avengers. But I saw the trailer and noticed Black Widow was featured heavily in the movie, so I figured that if I didn’t like him, I could just go for her. In the end, I was blown out of the water by this movie and have warmed up to Cap, even though he is still the goody-goody two-shoes of the Avengers.

There were some names dropped in this movie: aside from Stark and Banner, Stephen Strange (Dr. Strange!!) was also mentioned in passing. The movie deals with S.H.I.E.L.D. which has been compromised and HYDRA is back in the game, backed up by the Winter Soldier.

I was pleasantly surprised with Cap’s fighting abilities, because I feel that those weren’t really shown in the first movie and the ‘side kicks’ Black Widow and Falcon were great as back up.  If it were up to me, Falcon would get his own superhero movie, right after Dr. Strange. He’s really a great character.

Also, the post credits scenes were great: the first one in particular. I can’t spoil, but it sets up Age of Ultron and gives us our first glimpse (and explanation) of Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch!

All in all, Captain America: The Winter Soldier greatly surpassed my expectations.

A penny for your thoughts

