Status

How do you know it’s good enough?

I always wonder, especially when I’m editing/rewriting my work, how I know whether or not it’s good enough. I mean, I know it’s not at the level of my favourite authors, but I find it reads pleasantly enough. But then, it’s my work. Of course I’m going to think it’s good enough. I worry about this, especially when it comes to my novel.

So far, the only thing I’ve submitted are two short stories and I haven’t had any response to the first, but the second has been rejected six times now. Does that mean my storytelling abilities aren’t good enough? Does it mean I’m just not good at short stories? (I have only begun writing them this year) How do you know?

Do you find out when submitting to an agent? Do you find out when your story gets rejected time and time again? How do you keep going when you feel you’re not adequate, and when you don’t know if you’ll ever be?

2 thoughts on “How do you know it’s good enough?

  1. Oh my gosh. I went through those very things you mentioned. πŸ™‚ I can only humbly ask you to read my post on my journey with writing and getting published, on my home page. I think/hope you may find a message in it. Wishing you all the best of success.

    Like

A penny for your thoughts

