Review: Marvel’s Agent Carter S1

Marvel’s Agent Carter is an eight episode series spearheaded by Hayley Atwell, who played Peggy Carter – Captain America’s love interest – in both Captain America movies.  The show has the task of entertaining fans of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. until it returns on March 3.

Agent Peggy Carter fought in the war besides Captain America and is a friend of the great Howard Stark. She’s been a great soldier and did a service to her country. But the war is over and Peggy Carter is mistreated by her colleagues at the SSR. They don’t see her as an asset: to them she’s nothing more than a lunch lady, someone to mind the phones, Captain America’s little sweetheart. When Howard Stark suddenly becomes public enemy number one after dangerous inventions of his surface in the hands of the enemy, Howard comes to Peggy for help. Peggy, together with Howard’s trusty butler Jarvis, has to launch her own investigation into what really happened.

I like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. a lot, but I must say that Agent Carter blew me out of the water. So much so that I was dreading the season finale, because it might be the end of it. Agent Carter was supposed to be only one tightly plotted season, and although the fans are clamouring for more, we might not get more. I hope we do. I hope Agent Carter keeps ‘standing in’ for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. whenever it goes on hiatus. I don’t even need a longer season: eight episodes are fine.

I just want Agent Peggy Carter back on my screen! Also, we need to find out more about how she was fundamental in the founding of S.H.I.E.L.D.

A penny for your thoughts

