Review: Kingsman – The Secret Service

I saw the trailer for Kingsman – The Secret Service when I went to see Guardians of the Galaxy, and it stayed in my mind for a long time. So when it came out in the Netherlands, I had to go and see it.

Harry Hart (played by Colin Firth), a.k.a. Galahad, is a part of the Kingsman section of the secret service and decided to recruit “Eggsy” (played by Taron Egerton), the son of one of the late Kingsmen, to join. Together with, among others, Merlin (Mark Strong) they are set against evil mogul Valentine (Samuel L. Jackson) who has been kidnapping people of note. When they find out just what his evil plan truly entails, it’s a race against the clock. A race to save all mankind.

Honestly, I am in love with this movie – apparently it’s based off a graphic novel – and its incredible way of keeping me on the edge of my seat and thoroughly entertained. It’s not your average spy movie, it’s not a bond movie, and it’s not a typical action movie. It takes all the things that make different genres great: drama, tension, action, suave gentlemen, spies, evil ‘overlord’ and henchmen, comedy and straight up fun and mixes it to perfection.

I don’t know what I was expecting from this movie, but I sure didn’t think I’d be laughing as hard as I did. I didn’t think certain characters would act the way they did and I sure as hell didn’t expect that interesting (to say the least) ending! You really get to experience “Eggsy” and his sad home life, and you’re actually glad when he gets as far as he comes. He deserves it. And that mid-credits scene? Awesome!

I’d recommend it to anyone who wants to be genuinely entertained.

A penny for your thoughts

