Aside

The much dreaded synopsis

Well, I just wrote (or struggled to write) the first draft of the synopsis (or what passes for a synopsis, I hope) of my manuscript. To be honest, brevity when describing the major events of my manuscript isn’t my strong suit.

It was very hard for me to write, especially because there are so many sub plots and characters in the story. I had a hard time deciding which of my main characters to include and which ones to exclude. You only have one page, right? You have to leave something out.

But after wrestling with my alternating desires to either write another novel or summarize the whole thing blandly, I got my first draft on paper! Well, on screen. In Word? Whatever, you guys know what I mean.

I’m leaving it alone for a few days, to get a little distance between us, and then I’m going to take another crack at it, I think. Anyway, the first step to an enticing synopsis has been made, next up is the perfect query letter. And somewhere along the way, I should probably attempt to write a good cover letter as well. *Shudders*

But I shouldn’t complain, because these are all steps towards the greater goal: getting a literary agent.

 

A penny for your thoughts

