Review: Legends – Stories in Honour of David Gemmell

GEMMELL_COVER_FIN2c (644x948)

I bought this anthology (also my first ever anthology read) because I love David Gemmell‘s work and I support the David Gemmell Awards. It also gave me some new writers to explore, and some insight into short stories and what a writer can do with them. The anthology consists of short stories by the following authors (some of whom I’ve read before):

  • Stan Nicholls
  • James Barclay
  • Gaie Sebold
  • Ian Whates
  • Storm Constantine
  • Tanith Lee
  • Jonathan Green
  • Joe Abercrombie
  • Juliet E McKenna
  • Anne Nicholls
  • Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • Jan Siegel
  • Sandra Unerman

Opinion:

I’ve never really read short stories before, unless you count fairy tales, so this anthology definitely brought something new to the table. Some authors I was already familiar with – Barclay, Abercrombie – and some were already on my I-want-to-read-something-written-by-them-list like Adrian Tchaikovsky and Tanith Lee (may she rest in peace). I’ve also been looking into some of these writers and the books they’ve written, trying to figure out whether or not to add them to the aforementioned list.

I enjoyed each and every one of the stories, even though they were all very different. Some continued a certain storyline or character path from previous books the authors wrote. Some were standalone stories.

All in all, I’m glad I bought this anthology and will be looking forward to read more from some of these authors.

Rating:

9/10

One thought on “Review: Legends – Stories in Honour of David Gemmell

A penny for your thoughts

