Review: Chef

I’d heard a lot of good things about Chef, but didn’t get around to seeing it until today. I’m glad I watched it! It’s the ultimate feel-good movie about following your dreams and pursuing your passion. A lot of great actors in there as well.

John Favreau plays Carl Casper, ex-husband, mostly absent father and a great chef with a love for food. After a food critic writes a scathing review, his world starts to fall apart. Desperate to once again cook with the passion he’s always had, he decides to get himself a food truck and start anew. He ends up going on a great and fun journey, and learns a lot about life, pursuing passions and his son.

Man, this movie had me grinning from ear to ear almost all the way through! I honestly didn’t expect it to be that good after seeing the movie, but I heard great things about it, so I figured I’d give it a shot. I’m sooooo glad I did. It truly is the ultimate feel good movie!

And the cast! So many great actors and actresses in this one aside from Favreau. Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson, John Leguizamo, Dustin Hofman, Sofía Vergara and many more. The father-son relationship was realistic and I kept rooting for the distance between them to become smaller and smaller. And the advantages and disadvantages of social media were touched upon.

All in all, great movie! A perfect movie to watch at a get-together with friends.

2 thoughts on “Review: Chef

A penny for your thoughts

