Review: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

binti

I bought this novella, Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor because I heard a lot of great things about it, and because I wanted to read more diverse authors. It’s sci-fi, not fantasy, but I took the plunge anyway.

Plot:

Binti is the first Himba to ever be accepted to attend Oomza University and though she’s scared, she’s also very excited. She undertakes a space journey to get to where she’s going – but then something happens. Something terrible. Something almost unimaginable.

Opinion:

I’ll admit: sci-fi isn’t a genre I’ve read as much as fantasy. But I loved this novella nonetheless. Binti is a strong character, and she’s easy to identify with. Her excitement, her wonder and her fear are all palpable. Her way of dealing with things awe-inspiring, and still so very human. The taste of Namibian culture had me convinced I need to read a novel of two from this author, and cherish the chance to get to know more about the worlds she’s built.

The novella left me wanting more, and I’d recommend this gem to anybody who loves sci-fi, fantasy, or just great storytelling.

Rating:

10/10

A penny for your thoughts

