Review: Warcraft

I’ve never played any of the WOW games, though they did always kind of peaked my interest. I honestly don’t know why I never took the next step and try one, but the truth is that I didn’t. I’d heard stories about a Warcraft movie being made here and there, but it wasn’t until I saw the trailer that I was convinced I had to go see it.

I absolutely loved it! This was the first movie based on a game that was actually a lot of fun and made me realise game-based movies could be good again. I didn’t have to have played the WOW games to understand what was going on, and though the movie itself was fast paced I never felt lost.

Warcraft did a good job establishing good and bad characters on both sides of the conflict. In fact the first five minutes did such a good job of establishing Durotan and who he was, and what he cared about, that he remained my favourite character until the end.

There was humour in the movie, sadness, and devastation, and I didn’t realise until the end of the movie that they were planning on making more of these. (I think they’re thinking of making a trilogy?) I especially loved how there was no plot armour in this movie, and how they sprinkled hints here and there of what was to come.

There weren’t any characters I actively disliked except for the obvious bad guys, because well…they were bad, but even the more grey characters had something to like about them. And I thought it was very amusing seeing so many actors I knew from other genre shows/movies (Agents of Shield, Agent Carter, Captain America: The First Avenger & Vikings) on screen together.

I probably missed a lot of Easter eggs and references because I never played any of the games, but that knowledge doesn’t take away from my enjoyment of the movie. I thought the other races were well crafted (Orcs, Elves, Dwarves); different from the LotR ones, and that’s a good thing. I love LotR, but too often it’s used as a blueprint. I liked that even though most of us are conditioned to think Orc = BAD, they made me care for them and their fates from the beginning of the movie.

Can’t wait to see what all the characters have been up to in their second movie! (*fingers crossed we’ll get a second movie)

One thought on “Review: Warcraft

A penny for your thoughts

