Review: The Last of Us Remastered

I bought this game when buying my PS4 way back in 2015, because I’d heard good things about it and because I’d been following the ‘Teens React to Gaming’ series on YouTube where they played through this game. I was a bit worried that my enjoyment of the game would be lessened by the fact that I already knew most of what would happen, but those worries proved to be unfounded.

The zombie apocalypse. One man, one teenage girl and a journey throughout several dangers to deliver the cure. Infected. Clickers. Bloaters. Human allies and adversaries. A society in commotion. Friends lost. Enemies made. And an amazing ending.

I absolutely loved this game! The story is great, compelling, touching, and keeps you on your toes while you play it. The devastation of the world, the way the survivors treated each other and the constant threat of zombies felt incredibly realistic.

The relationship between Joel and Ellie grew organically, and even though I was as annoyed with her as he was in the beginning, in the end I was completely sold on her. The way society had fallen apart was reasonable; the way survivors didn’t trust each other, how some used the societal upheaval as an excuse to hunt down and hurt other people. Oftentimes it were the humans that were the problem, not the zombies. The zombies though…god, the zombies.

It’s a terrible way to ‘go’. You get infected, but a bite, or a scrape, or whatnot and then you slowly lose your mind and turn into one of them. No wonder people rather just blow their own heads off in this game. I thought the Bloaters were the most annoying zombies, I usually had to empty my entire arsenal into them and even then most of the times I died. I don’t even know how many times I died throughout this game, but I know it was a ridiculous amount.

I’m usually not that good at games with guns, and this was no exception. I had to go through this game on the easy setting with lock-on aiming. Still, I’m glad I swallowed my pride and put it on the easy setting, because the game was worth it. The story was worth it. That ending was worth it. I’ve realised, through playing The Last of Us and The Witcher 3 mostly, that I enjoy games with a good story the most.

(I’ve started playing Left Behind, but I’ve not finished it yet, so that’ll get its own review in time.)

A penny for your thoughts

