Review: Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch

Foxglove Summer is the fifth book in the PC Peter Grant series by Ben Aaronovitch, and I believe the first book in which Peter spends the majority of his time not in London.

Plot:

As the events of the last book have left Peter shaken, he jumps at the chance to spend some time outside of London. Unfortunately, the case he’s assisting on is a dark one: two pre-teen girls have gone missing in rural Herefordshire. There’s no indication that there might be magic involved, but that doesn’t stop for Peter from worrying. Time is running out.

Opinion:

The idea of Peter working on a “regular” case – child disappearances are rarely “regular” – was a novel one; as a reader you get to see how Peter works when there isn’t all kinds of magical chaos interfering. The case itself is odd enough to keep you on your toes, and wondering what really happened to those kids. And then, when there does turn out to be a magical tie to it all, it only gets you more invested.

I must say, I did not expect Peter to stumble upon unicorns, and angry ones at that who like meat and gore through trees with horns, but it worked. Beverly Brook’s return (YAY) and help with the case was something I didn’t know I wanted until it happened, and it was glorious! The mystery surrounding her only thickens, and it leaves me wondering what the extent and limitations of her powers are.

Lesley’s sudden contact made me, like Peter, suspicious, but like him I harboured hope. Dominic was a great addition to the cast of this book, and made up for the absences of Molly, Toby and limited ‘screen time’ of doctor Wallid and Nightingale. I hope to see him again.

The obsession with UFOs the entire community has is hilarious. Everybody’s talking about UFOs and aliens. And when you come to understand what’s happening in the community, it’s not hard to understand why.

The reveal of what really happened to those girls is great, and I won’t spoil it for you, but again it wasn’t something I was expecting when I picked up the book. But it worked, and I picked up on the subtle hints of what it was before the actual reveal. It opened up the world even more, especially the end where we also get a hint about Molly’s heritage, so to speak, and I can’t wait to dive into the next book!

Rating:

9.5/10

A penny for your thoughts

