Review: Spider-Man: Homecoming

To be fair, I was never truly into Spider-Man. I’ve only seen the first two Toby Maguire movies, which were fine, I guess, but nothing mind-blowing. They mostly made me wonder why Peter looked way older than a high school kid. And the trailers for the Andrew Garfield ones just never drew me in.

When it comes to non-MCU Marvel properties I’ve always been more into the X-Men. But when Tom Holland appeared on the screen during Captain America: Civil War as Spider-Man I was immediately sold. His interactions with Robert Downey Jr., the fact he actually felt like a kid and his general excitement and being in awe of everything that happened during the airport scene endeared him to me. So there was no way I wasn’t going to see Spider-Man: Homecoming as soon as possible.

I won’t say anything to spoil the movie for others, but I had a grand time! The motives of the main villain, The Vulture, were understandable and though I disagreed with what he did, I could understand his frustration. It would probably be safe to say that the Battle of New York changed the lives of many New Yorkers and probably not in a good way. Especially when you think of not just what happened in the MCU world since then, but also the TV shows and the Netflix shows. Though I do think his anger is directed at the wrong person.

Tom Holland shines as both Peter Parker and Spider-Man. Him trying to balance his regular high school life with aunt May and his semi-Avenging life being mentored (and monitored) by Happy and Tony, makes him incredibly relatable. If I suddenly developed superpowers during my high school days, I’d probably make more of a mess than he did. There’s this disappointment, which he shows very well, from having fought beside and against Avengers in Civil War and then two months later being back at school, living a regular school life. There’s crushes, bullies, the best sandwiches in New York and old ladies who buy you a churro after you give them directions. It’s properly mundane.

Peter has gotten a taste of something bigger, something more “important” and he’s so excited to be part of that world, the regular world just doesn’t do it for him anymore. He idolizes Iron Man, but doesn’t see that Tony is trying to mold him into a better person and not just an Iron Man clone (he’s very aware of his faults). Speaking of Iron Man, Tony Stark and Happy Hogan are in this movie, and they’re both trying to get Peter to be just the regular friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man, but their presence is never overwhelming. It stays Peter’s movie. It’s about him figuring out how to balance being a superhero with being a high school kid, and it’s about him figuring out who and what he wants to be.

There’s a stellar supporting cast; Zendaya’s Michelle was definitely my favourite and I hope to see more from her in the future. I also hope to see more interactions between Peter and aunt May, because the glimpses we got of their relationship were great, but kept me starving for more. I liked that we skipped the whole origin story – let’s face it: everyone knows how Peter Parker became Spider-Man – and we didn’t have to see uncle Ben dying again. Though I do wonder what he looked like.

I’m really looking forward to seeing more of this Peter Parker/Spider-Man and I’m sure what we’ll get will be great, because Tom Holland is a great actor. I knew that since I saw his performance in The Impossible.  I can’t wait to see him properly interact with all the other heroes in the MCU! Also, how great and supportive was Karen! That was both touching and hilarious.

Also, don’t forget to stay until after the credits. You’ll miss out on one of Marvel’s greatest gags.

A penny for your thoughts

