Review: The Shadowed Sun by N.K. Jemisin


This is the second book in The Dreamblood duology by N.K. Jemisin. I really hope it won’t stay a duology, because I’d love to explore the world more, but if it is, then it’s a fitting end.


Gujaareh, the city of dreams, has been ruled for ten years by the conquering Kisuati after the schemes of the Prince fell through in the previous book. The Kisuati are cruel and forceful, and only the Hetawa and its Sharers, Sisters, Sentinels and Gatherers ensure that Gujaareh stays peaceful. But things are boiling under the surface and things are changing in the city. The barbarians, lead by exiled would-be-Prince Wanahomen keep raiding the city, there’s a female Sharer apprentice in the Hetawa though women are as goddesses and therefore shouldn’t do the jobs of men, and the people of Gujaareh are getting more and more frustrated by the behaviour of the Kisuati. War is brewing and an unstoppable plague spreads through the city of dreams, killing people horrible in their sleep.

Continue reading


Review: The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud


The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud is the third book of the Bartimaeus Sequence and the second book of the original Bartimaeus trilogy. It takes place two years after the first book.


Nathaniel, the name he goes by now is John Mandrake, is now apprenticed to the Minister of Security and is put on the case of cracking down the resistance. Having previously been mugged by some of its members, Nathaniel feels confident he can crack the case. But as time goes by, and other mysterious attacks in London happen, he’s getting nervous. He knows one person who can help him – if you can call him a person really – figure out what the resistance is up to and what kind of creature is attacking London. Summoning Bartimaeus is the only thing he can do, even though it might place him under the scrutiny of his fellow magicians. After all, Bartimaeus knows his birth name. Continue reading

Review: The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud


The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud is the first book of the Bartimaeus sequence; a contemporary YA Fantasy series. The series is comprised of a trilogy, of which The Amulet of Samarkand is the first book, and a prequel which was published after the trilogy. The sequence is made up of the following novels:

  • The Amulet of Samarkand
  • The Golem’s Eye
  • Ptolemy’s Gate
  • The Ring of Solomon (prequel)

In general, I don’t read YA, but this series is just so good and entertaining, that I had to buy it. Continue reading