Review: The Ring of Solomon by Jonathan Stroud


The Ring of Solomon is the last book in the Bartimaeus Sequence by Jonathan Stroud and the prequel to the trilogy.


Bartimaeus is enslaved by a dark magician who serves the great king Solomon in Jerusalem. He hates his service but knows there is nothing to be done. After all: Solomon has the Ring. And this Rings gives him great and terrible powers one can only dream of. If you were a magician, anyway. But then he saves a girl from Sheba, who changes his life in both good and bad ways. Continue reading


Review: Ptolemy’s Gate by Jonathan Stroud


Ptolemy’s Gate is the third book in the Bartimaeus Sequence by Jonathan Stroud and the last book of the Bartimaeus trilogy.


London’s magical reign is under threat from the commoners who are being born with strange powers of magical perception and resilience. Nathaniel finds himself right in the middle of it, and he’s not happy. You know who else isn’t happy? Bartimaeus. For two long years he’s been forced to stay on earth to serve Nathaniel, who in his mind has now really become John Mandrake, and he’s getting weaker and weaker. And when Kitty, former resistance member, suddenly summons him to ask questions about magic, resilience and (how dare she!) Ptolemy, Bartimaeus feels that things are spiralling out of control. Continue reading

Review: The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud


The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud is the third book of the Bartimaeus Sequence and the second book of the original Bartimaeus trilogy. It takes place two years after the first book.


Nathaniel, the name he goes by now is John Mandrake, is now apprenticed to the Minister of Security and is put on the case of cracking down the resistance. Having previously been mugged by some of its members, Nathaniel feels confident he can crack the case. But as time goes by, and other mysterious attacks in London happen, he’s getting nervous. He knows one person who can help him – if you can call him a person really – figure out what the resistance is up to and what kind of creature is attacking London. Summoning Bartimaeus is the only thing he can do, even though it might place him under the scrutiny of his fellow magicians. After all, Bartimaeus knows his birth name. Continue reading

Review: The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud


The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud is the first book of the Bartimaeus sequence; a contemporary YA Fantasy series. The series is comprised of a trilogy, of which The Amulet of Samarkand is the first book, and a prequel which was published after the trilogy. The sequence is made up of the following novels:

  • The Amulet of Samarkand
  • The Golem’s Eye
  • Ptolemy’s Gate
  • The Ring of Solomon (prequel)

In general, I don’t read YA, but this series is just so good and entertaining, that I had to buy it. Continue reading