New Additions #106

Birthday edition!


Review: Lies Sleeping by Ben Aaronovitch

Lies Sleeping is the seventh instalment of the PC Peter Grant series by Ben Aaronovitch.


The Faceless Man has been murdering, sacrificing, committing fraud, and done even more heinous things, but the police and the Folly know his identity now and they’ve got him on the run. Peter Grant, now Detective Constable, is one of the key figures in the operation to bring him down once and for all. But a cornered animal is at its most dangerous, and cornered magicians even more so. The Faceless Man isn’t going down without a fight and a show, and is in the midst of completing one final mission. If he were to succeed, London will be forever changed. It’s up to Peter, and his colleagues, to stop him before he does. If they can.

Continue reading

Review: The Furthest Station by Ben Aaronovitch


The Furthest Station is a part of the PC Peter Grant series by Ben Aaronovitch, only it’s not a book or a graphic novel, it’s novella! I feared the novella format would be too short to properly enjoy, but that turned out to be a faulty assumption.


Ghosts are not a rare occurrence on the London Underground, but these ghosts are different. They are aggressive and frightening. And it seems these ghost have an urgent message; only they can’t seem to deliver it. Luckily Peter Grant is on the case! He is joined by Nightingale, Jaget Kumar, Toby the ghost hunting dog and his teenage cousin, Abigail, who has been dabbling in magic herself.

Continue reading