Review: the Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake

Ah, Gormenghast. Hailed as one of the classics of Fantasy, I just had to read this trilogy. The Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake consists of:

  • Titus Groan
  • Gormenghast
  • Titus Alone


The Gormenghast trilogy deals with the lives and deaths of the people of the great castle of Gormenghast. The first book starts with the birth of Titus Groan, the seventy-seventh Earl of Groan, son of Lord Sepulchrave, the seventy-sixth Earl of Groan and the Countess Gertrude, younger brother of Fuchsia. This event shakes the foundation of Gormenghast, and none of the lives of those who live within – and outside – those walls will ever be the same.

Continue reading

Review: The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

A few months ago, I thought to myself, “I really need to start and read more Fantasy classics.” The only classics I’ve read (if one doesn’t consider David Gemmell‘s entire oeuvre classics) are Tolkien‘s The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion. So I took a peek online to see what were commonly seen as Fantasy classics – and it turned out I had some of those already on my wish-list – and added some of those classics to my wish-list and put two of them in the shopping cart of the online book store I frequent.

They were Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke and Peter S. Beagle‘s The Last Unicorn. I finished The Last Unicorn last night.

Continue reading