Review: Wicked Bronze Ambition by Glen Cook

Wicked Bronze Ambition

Wicked Bronze Ambition is the fourteenth book in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook.


Garrett’s fiancĂ© was born on the Hill and his soon-to-be family-in-law is filthy rich. They’re all sorcerers too, and that puts them in a tight spot, because someone has it out for them. Or rather, their children and grandchildren. A grand underground tournament has been set up and is meant to be a battle-royale type: the kids are in it if they want to or not. And whether they have actual magic powers or not. This case gets very close for Garrett personally because someone he loves has died and now he is out for revenge.
Continue reading

Review: Gilded Latten Bones by Glen Cook

Gilded Latten Bones

Gilded Latten Bones is the thirteenth book in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook.


Garrett is a private investigator no longer: he lives with his girlfriend Tinnie – with whom he’d had an on-again-off-again relationship in the past – and she has completely succeeded putting up a wall between him and his old friends and acquaintances. The sad thing is that Garrett hasn’t even noticed. Not until somebody breaks into their house and tries to kidnap Tinnie. Not until Belinda Contague shows up on his doorstep the very same night to tell him that his best friend Morley, professional playboy and restaurateur – has been the victim of a vicious stabbing. And he might not make it. Garrett plunges into this new adventure to save his friend and to get back at whoever tried to kill him, always wondering whether or not the two incidents could be related.
Continue reading

Review: Cruel Zinc Melodies by Glen Cook

Cruel Zinc Melodies

Gods, I can’t tell you how much I love this series! I probably have mentioned it a few times already in other reviews but the Garrett, P.I. series by Glen Cook is amazing! I don’t usually use the word ‘feels’, though I must admit it fits. The feels are heavy when it comes to this series, even when it’s just one moment. Cruel Zinc Melodies has such a moment, which involves a character from one of the earlier books – and a bit of a name-drop of another character (MAYA!!!) from one of the earlier books – and it’s just so fitting. This is the twelfth book of the series. Continue reading

Review: Whispering Nickel Idols by Glen Cook


Whispering Nickel Idols is the eleventh book in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook.


When Garrett gets up before noon, in a good mood, something is not right. And when he finds a child hanging around the Dead Man’s room, a basket full of kittens hidden in his kitchen and green pants wearing men trying to break down his door, Garrett knows trouble has found him again. Continue reading

Review: Angry Lead Skies by Glen Cook


Angry Lead Skies by Glen Cook is the tenth Garrett P.I. novel in the series.


When his friend Playmate asks for a favour – because actually hiring Garrett costs money – initially Garrett thinks nothing of it. He is to bodyguard this inventor boy Kip (full name Cyprus Prose) who has been nearly snatched by….silver elves? But Garrett soon realizes there are a lot of things going on, and none of it is normal TunFaire stuff. In fact, you might say it was alien. Continue reading

Review: Garrett for Hire by Glen Cook

Garrett for hire

Garrett for Hire by Glen Cook consists of the following three books:

  • Deadly Quicksilver Lies
  • Petty Pewter Gods
  • Faded Steel Heat


Garrett is getting himself into trouble once again, working for his clients – or actively trying to avoid wannabe-clients. This time is not only a women who wants her daughter found (or order a hit, it’s hard to tell), gods of many pantheon who want his attention for themselves as they fight to keep their heads above water and the Call – rightists Garrett wants nothing to do with on account of some of his friends being non-human – who keep involving him in things he doesn’t want to be involved in. Oh and beer….lots of beer. Continue reading

Review: Garrett Takes the Case by Glen Cook


Garrett Takes the Case consists of the fourth, fifth and sixth books in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook, namely:

  • Old Tin Sorrows
  • Dread Brass Shadows
  • Red Iron Nights


Once again, Garrett is on the case. Whether it’s curses, Books of Shadows or a mysterious illness, he figures it out. Eventually. Continue reading

Review: Introducing Garrett, P.I. by Glen Cook


Anyone who knows me, knows how much I love Glen Cook‘s The Black Company books and his witty voice and his gritty worlds. When I found out about his Garrett P.I. series, I didn’t quite know what to expect. I was thinking something along the lines of Urban Fantasy mixed with Sherlock Holmes (I’ve recently finished The Complete Sherlock Holmes collection and there ends my experience with detectives). But since I love Glen Cook’s work, I decided to give the first three books a try. Continue reading