New Additions #114


A few more e-books to add to the collection. Sometimes I like to mix my fiction with some non-fiction. I’d been looking a long time for the Instrumentalities of the Night Series by Glen Cook, so when I saw the collection e-book I snatched them right up.

Review: Wicked Bronze Ambition by Glen Cook

Wicked Bronze Ambition

Wicked Bronze Ambition is the fourteenth book in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook.


Garrett’s fiancĂ© was born on the Hill and his soon-to-be family-in-law is filthy rich. They’re all sorcerers too, and that puts them in a tight spot, because someone has it out for them. Or rather, their children and grandchildren. A grand underground tournament has been set up and is meant to be a battle-royale type: the kids are in it if they want to or not. And whether they have actual magic powers or not. This case gets very close for Garrett personally because someone he loves has died and now he is out for revenge.
Continue reading

Review: Gilded Latten Bones by Glen Cook

Gilded Latten Bones

Gilded Latten Bones is the thirteenth book in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook.


Garrett is a private investigator no longer: he lives with his girlfriend Tinnie – with whom he’d had an on-again-off-again relationship in the past – and she has completely succeeded putting up a wall between him and his old friends and acquaintances. The sad thing is that Garrett hasn’t even noticed. Not until somebody breaks into their house and tries to kidnap Tinnie. Not until Belinda Contague shows up on his doorstep the very same night to tell him that his best friend Morley, professional playboy and restaurateur – has been the victim of a vicious stabbing. And he might not make it. Garrett plunges into this new adventure to save his friend and to get back at whoever tried to kill him, always wondering whether or not the two incidents could be related.
Continue reading

Review: Cruel Zinc Melodies by Glen Cook

Cruel Zinc Melodies

Gods, I can’t tell you how much I love this series! I probably have mentioned it a few times already in other reviews but the Garrett, P.I. series by Glen Cook is amazing! I don’t usually use the word ‘feels’, though I must admit it fits. The feels are heavy when it comes to this series, even when it’s just one moment. Cruel Zinc Melodies has such a moment, which involves a character from one of the earlier books – and a bit of a name-drop of another character (MAYA!!!) from one of the earlier books – and it’s just so fitting. This is the twelfth book of the series. Continue reading

The year 2013…

2013 for me was the year of sequels and delayed gratification.

Sequels were a constant in my life this year: from the second year of Japanstudies I enrolled in, the majority of movies I watched at the cinema (Fast and Furious 6, Iron man 3, Thor: The Dark World, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire & The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug), to the new seasons of TV shows I watched. Continue reading

Review: Whispering Nickel Idols by Glen Cook


Whispering Nickel Idols is the eleventh book in the Garrett P.I. series by Glen Cook.


When Garrett gets up before noon, in a good mood, something is not right. And when he finds a child hanging around the Dead Man’s room, a basket full of kittens hidden in his kitchen and green pants wearing men trying to break down his door, Garrett knows trouble has found him again. Continue reading