Review: Legends – Stories in Honour of David Gemmell


I bought this anthology (also my first ever anthology read) because I love David Gemmell‘s work and I support the David Gemmell Awards. It also gave me some new writers to explore, and some insight into short stories and what a writer can do with them. The anthology consists of short stories by the following authors (some of whom I’ve read before):

  • Stan Nicholls
  • James Barclay
  • Gaie Sebold
  • Ian Whates
  • Storm Constantine
  • Tanith Lee
  • Jonathan Green
  • Joe Abercrombie
  • Juliet E McKenna
  • Anne Nicholls
  • Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • Jan Siegel
  • Sandra Unerman

Continue reading

Review: The First Collected Tales of Bauchelain & Korbal Broach by Steven Erikson


The First Collected Tales of Bauchelain & Korbal Broach is a collection of three short novels – novellas – by Steven Erikson, revolving around the three mysterious men we first met around the time of the Pannion War in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series. Bauchelain, summoner of demons, soletaken and necromancer, Korbal Broach, eunuch, soletaken and necromancer and Emancipor Reese, their reluctant manservant.

The collection consists of the following short novels:

  • Blood Follows
  • The Lees of Laughter’s End
  • The Healthy Dead

It also contains the introductions by three other Fantasy authors, among them James Barclay (I love it when my Fantasy fandoms collide!), praising the way Erikson imbues his shorter works with the same amount of detail and love he does his longer works. Continue reading

The year 2013…

2013 for me was the year of sequels and delayed gratification.

Sequels were a constant in my life this year: from the second year of Japanstudies I enrolled in, the majority of movies I watched at the cinema (Fast and Furious 6, Iron man 3, Thor: The Dark World, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire & The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug), to the new seasons of TV shows I watched. Continue reading

Review: Elves series by James Barclay










The Elves series by James Barclay is comprised of the following three books:

  • Once Walked With Gods
  • Rise of the TaiGethen
  • Beyond the Mists of Katura

These books are prequels to The Chronicles of The Raven and the Legends of The Raven series that I’ve come to know and love. I didn’t know what expect from the Elves series, mainly because the Elven nation and their beliefs only came into play around Barclay’s Elfsorrow, but I surely wasn’t expecting this. Continue reading

Review: Ravensoul by James Barclay


Ravensoul is the last novel of The Legends of The Raven series by James Barclay. And it’s the most grandiose novel of them all, in a way, because The Raven are back. Even though they were pretty much killed off (except two) in Demonstorm. Barclay killed his and my darlings, but brought them back to life….so to speak.


The souls of the dead are inhabiting recent corpses all over Balaia and Calaius. And the recently deceased cannot find eternal rest. Because the Garonin, the ancient and monstrous enemy of the Elves, have reached the dimension of the dead. And through that dimension, they’ve found purchase on Balaia, Calaius and the dragon dimension. Denser, High Mage of Xetesk, and The Unknown Warrior now called by his real name Sol, find themselves in the middle of it all. Because The Raven – long or newly deceased – are back and claiming Sol is the one to rescue the humans, dragons and Elves by finding them a new home. The only problem is, he will have to die first. And Denser isn’t having any of that. Continue reading