Review: Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch is the second book in the Gentleman Bastard series, and a whole lot of fun. But what else can you expect when it stars two lovable thieves?


After fighting a battle for their lives with the underworld of Camorr, Locke and Jean are hurting, both physically and mentally. They lost many, and much, and Locke especially can’t seem to get out of the funk he’s sunk into. But then, an idea bubbles to the surface, and they decide to┬áset foot on Tal Verrar to nurse their wounds, and to set up the biggest heist they’ve attempted yet. Unfortunately, in the midst of their preparations, it comes to light that someone knows the duo’s secrets, and is planning on using them in plans of their own. Locke and Jean are forced to dance to someone else’s tune, if they want to live. Continue reading


Review: Braven

I stumbled upon the movie Braven because I decided I wanted to see more of Jason Momoa’s filmography. I scrolled through his IMDB page and wrote some titles down for viewing in the future. Braven was on top of my list because it was a recent movie, and not a very long one. I was not disappointed.

Continue reading

Review: Ocean’s Eight

As someone who thought the previous Ocean’s film were nice popcorn movies, when I heard they were making a new one with an all female cast, I was interested. The names that were attached to the project, like the lovable and super talented Cate Blanchett, were enough for me to withhold any misgivings until I saw the trailer. Then I saw the trailer, and was absolutely sold.

Continue reading

Review: Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

Kings of the Wyld is Nicholas Eames‘ debut novel and the first book in The Band series. I’d heard a lot of good things about it on r/fantasy, so I decided to buy it.


Clay Cooper was once a member of the most famous mercenary band this side of the Heartwyld; Saga. But those days are long behind them. He’s got a wife and a daughter, and vague plans for an inn one day. He’s grown old and spends his days away from the glory of older days. He is content. Then his ex-band mate shows up on his door one night, pleading for Clay’s help. His daughter is trapped in a city that is surrounded by a monstrous horde, and he needs to save her. Clay knows it’s a suicide mission, but as a father he knows his friend’s pain all too well. It’s time to get the band back together. One last time. Continue reading

Review: Season of Storms by Andrzej Sapkowski

Season of Storms is the eight book in the Witcher series by Andrzej Sapkiowski translated into English, but chronologically the events take place right before the short stories of the first book in the series, The Last Wish.


It all begins with an unfortunate contract and leads to a series of events in which Geralt of Rivia, the White Wolf, gets thrown in prison, has his swords stolen, and gets involved in a case of experimenting sorcerers without qualms, horrible mutations and demons. Trouble follows Geralt wherever he goes, and this time is no exception. Continue reading

Review: Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection

I bought Uncharted: The Nathan Drake collection in a combination deal with my Playstation. The collection is comprised of Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, Uncharted: Among Thieves and Uncharted: Drake’s Deception. I finished the last game of the three on the 2nd of April. And what a ride it was.

Before I bought the games I didn’t really know anything about the Uncharted series except for the fact that it was about an explorer. I figured it was something like Indiana Jones/Tomb Raider. I was right, kinda.

Continue reading