Review: Fall of Light by Steven Erikson


Fall of Light is the long-awaited sequel to the first book in The Kharkanas trilogy (which is a prequel to the Malazan Book of the Fallen series) by Steven Erikson. I couldn’t wait to read this book after devouring Forge of Darkness.


Civil war is now ravaging through Kurald Galain, and the Tiste are thrown into chaos, forced to choose sides in a war no one wants – or to reject both sides altogether. The three Purake brothers upon whom shoulders rest the duty of protecting Mother Dark and everyone under her rule are split. Anomander is looking for his grief-stricken and estranged brother Andarist, while Silchas Ruin is forced to rule in Anomander’s stead. And Urusander’s army is moving towards Kharkanas, to mete out what they believe is justice.

Continue reading

Why I think MBotF is the best Fantasy series ever

I know I’ve already written about The Malazan Book of the Fallen series a couple of times: there’s a review of the entire series and a shorter post on finishing my reread of the series. But I feel neither of those posts really does my affinity for this amazing series justice. I’m going to try again, and hopefully convince more people to read the series, and if that doesn’t work, at least they’ll know that by not reading it, they’re missing out.
Continue reading

Review: Stonewielder by Ian C. Esslemont


Stonewielder is the third novel by Ian C. Esslemont  in the world of the Malazan Empire.


Greymane and Kyle –  formerly of the Crimson Guard – have taken up positions in the Malazan Empire as High Fist and Adjunct. They are tasked with destroying a former Malazan contingent on Korel that has taken up power for itself. And the new Emperor isn’t happy about that. In Korel, the Stormguard are standing the wall, waiting for the Stormriders to attack once again, and hope for the continued protection of the Lady. But they have no idea what’s coming for them. Continue reading

Review: The First Collected Tales of Bauchelain & Korbal Broach by Steven Erikson


The First Collected Tales of Bauchelain & Korbal Broach is a collection of three short novels – novellas – by Steven Erikson, revolving around the three mysterious men we first met around the time of the Pannion War in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series. Bauchelain, summoner of demons, soletaken and necromancer, Korbal Broach, eunuch, soletaken and necromancer and Emancipor Reese, their reluctant manservant.

The collection consists of the following short novels:

  • Blood Follows
  • The Lees of Laughter’s End
  • The Healthy Dead

It also contains the introductions by three other Fantasy authors, among them James Barclay (I love it when my Fantasy fandoms collide!), praising the way Erikson imbues his shorter works with the same amount of detail and love he does his longer works. Continue reading