Review: the Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake

Ah, Gormenghast. Hailed as one of the classics of Fantasy, I just had to read this trilogy. The Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake consists of:

  • Titus Groan
  • Gormenghast
  • Titus Alone


The Gormenghast trilogy deals with the lives and deaths of the people of the great castle of Gormenghast. The first book starts with the birth of Titus Groan, the seventy-seventh Earl of Groan, son of Lord Sepulchrave, the seventy-sixth Earl of Groan and the Countess Gertrude, younger brother of Fuchsia. This event shakes the foundation of Gormenghast, and none of the lives of those who live within – and outside – those walls will ever be the same.

Continue reading